SF571 Passes Iowa Senate

FUANNews & Events, News You Can Use

FUAN_Families United Action Network Thank You Iowa Senators
FUAN_Families United Action Network Thank You Iowa Senators
Image of SF571 Iowa Senate Vote Totals
FUAN Graphic Tile for SF571

FUAN-Thank You

Now that the roar of the thunder is beginning to sound from the lightning that struck in Iowa when SF571 passed through the Senate, we would officially like to remind you of the following needed actions.

We are proud to announce that SF 571 has passed through the Senate with bipartisan support and a vote count of 30-18 last Tuesday, March 10, 2020. SF 571 is a bill for a rebuttable presumption of Shared Parenting with clear and convincing evidence.

This bill will now go to a House Judiciary subcommittee. We expect this to happen next Monday or Tuesday. If the bill passes there, it will then go in front of the full Judiciary, a House floor vote, and on to the Governor’s desk.

FUAN Wants To Extend A Very Heartfelt Thank You To These Legislators

Here's what FUAN asks you to do now to help keep the momentum going.

We encourage you to send a THANK YOU email to the Iowa senators that voted in favor of SF 571 and propelled us this far. Please do not worry about those that voted against as they may be allies on other bills. There is no reason to rock the boat or create enemies. We have already navigated the Senate without them. Maintain your focus on positive attitudes and progress.

Simply send a message that says, “Thank you for your support on SF 571. No response needed” is sufficient. Feel free to say more if you wish.

Photo of Senator-Julian-Garrett

Senator Julian Garrett

Julian.Garrett@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Garrett was the bill's floor manager. He did a masterful job in the Senate subcommittee meeting by challenging the opposition to support their position. We can't underestimate his excellent job of alleviating the ever-dwindling number of concerns and objections.

Our legislators are increasingly taking into account what more than one hundred ten credible, peer-reviewed studies have long supported: Shared Parenting overwhelmingly benefits the majority of children. They are also now able to combat the lies and absurd arguments of the opposition.

Photo of Iowa Senator Jack Whitver

Senator Jack Whitver 

Jack.Whitver@legis.iowa.gov

We met with Senator Whitver before the legislative session, and he gave us clear instructions to ask you what he would like to see in order to get this bill passed. His request was to meet with all senators one more time and confirm their support. He wanted a final vote count and would trust our word. If we provided this, he gave guarantees that he would move this bill to a floor vote when the time came/if the time came. 

As you have seen, we completed the task and provided him with the expected vote count. We will admit that we were slightly under due to the absence of a couple of senators and a couple of legislative betrayals. All in all, our vote count was almost entirely correct.

Senator Whitver held true to his word. He showed his support through his vote, but also followed up with several of our FUAN Family participants to congratulate us after the vote. He demonstrated strong character, genuine concern/compassion, and sincere commitment to the children and families of Iowa. THANK YOU, Senator! 

Senators Zach Nunn, Randy Feenstra, and Mark Segebart have been very instrumental all year long by attending our events, introducing our recommendations, as well as keeping us up-to-date with who we might need to speak to gain their support. Thanks for your support.

Senator Charles Schneider

Charles Schneider@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Schneider was FUAN’s very first confirmed supporter back in 2013 before FUAN was officially created. 

Senator Schneider showed a tip of the hat and massive respect by demanding the respect of the entire Senate when he gaveled to end the chatter on the floor. It was a shock to all when news hit earlier that same day that he would be retiring from the Senate. He will be greatly missed.

FUAN_Legislative Courage Award-Senator Kevin Kinney

Senator Kevin Kinney 

Kevin.Kinney@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Kevin Kinney for the courage he displayed today by voting his conscience in favor of SF 571 for a Rebuttable Presumption of Shared Parenting. He was far from the only Democrat that had pledged their support on this bill. 

However, he was the only Democrat who voted in favor when the moment came. Despite firm party pressures, he chose to do the right thing for children and families of Iowa. For his bravery, we have named him a recipient of the “FUAN Legislative Courage Award.”

Senator Brad Zaun 

Brad.Zaun@legis.iowa.gov

Without Senator Zaun continuing to fight for years, passing this bill, SF571, would not have been possible. He has been not only the sponsor of this bill for many years but a real Family Law Reform gladiator. Thanks, Senator!

THANKS TO ALL OF THE SENATORS WHO VOTED TO PASS SF571 AND PROVE THEY REALLY DO PUT FAMILIES FIRST.
GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

Jerry Behn jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov
Waylon Brown waylon.brown@legis.iowa.gov
Jake Chapman jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Costello mark.costello@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Cournoyer chris.cournoyer@legis.iowa.gov
Dan Dawson dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
Jeff Edler jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov
Julian Garrett Julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Greene tom.greene@legis.iowa.gov
Dennis Guth dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov
Craig Johnson craig.johnson@legis.iowa.gov
Tim Kapucian tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov
Kevin Kinney kevin.kinney@legis.iowa.gov
Carrie Koelker carrie.koelker@legis.iowa.gov
Tim Kraayenbrink tim.kraayenbrink@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Lofgren mark.lofgren@legis.iowa.gov
Mariannette Miller-Meeks mariannette.miller-meeks@legis.iowa.gov
Zach Nunn zach.nunn@legis.iowa.gov
Ken Rozenboom ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov
Charles Schneider charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov
Jason Schultz Jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Segebart mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Shipley tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov
Amy Sinclair amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov
Roby Smith roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Annette Sweeney Annette.sweeney@legis.iowa.gov
Zach Whiting zach.whiting@legis.iowa.gov
Jack Whitver jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov
Brad Zaun brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov
Dan Zumbach dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov


Just a reminder, SF571 is not law yet. Keep contacting your legislators and encourage your friends and acquaintances to do the same. Find out more about this vital piece of legislation, SF571, on our website…


Image for Please Donate. Families United Action Network
You can make a difference. Support Family Law Reform
Visit the FUAN Advocate of the Month Hall of Fame - Click the Image